Skip to content

Historic District Commission

Share | 

Historic District Commission

The Board of County Commissioners appoints the seven-member Historic District Commission to staggered three-year terms.   The Historic District Commission is responsible for review, approval or disapproval of any activity, which requires the issuance of a building permit that is located within a Historic Preservation District or the Antietam Overlay zone. The Historic District has a similar authority for new construction in the Rural Village zoning district where historic inventories have been completed.   It also reviews and makes recommendations on legislation, applications for zoning text or map amendments, special exceptions, variance, site plan or subdivision applications and other proposals affecting historic preservation.  A Planning Department staff member is designated as the liaison to the Historic District Commission and is the contact point for all Historic District Commission business.

Historic District Commission Meetings

The Historic District Commission meets at 7:00 p.m. in the Washington County Administration Complex, 100 West Washington Street, Room 2001, Hagerstown, MD 21740

  • January 4, 2023
  • February 1, 2023
  • March 1, 2023
  • April 5, 2023
  • May 3, 2023
  • June 7, 2023
  • July 5, 2023  Cancelled 
  • August 2, 2023 Cancelled
  • September 6, 2023 Cancelled
  • October 4, 2023
  • November 1, 2023
  • December 6, 2023

The Historic District Commission reserves the right to cancel and/or change the meeting dates and times as needed.

HDC Agendas & Minutes

Explore archived agendas and meeting minutes. For current agendas visit the Department of Planning and Zoning Homepage.

Board Members

  • Gregory Smith, Chair
  • Lloyd Yavener, Vice Chair
  • Ann Aldrich
  • Brianna Candelaria
  • Vernell Doyle
  • Justin Bedard
  • Michael Lushbaugh
  • Wayne K. Keefer (BOCC Representative)


Planning & Zoning

747 Northern Ave
Hagerstown, MD 21742

Phone: 240-313-2430
Email: [email protected]
Fax: 240-313-2431

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

TTY users may call any government office through the Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258