County News

2019 John Frye Historical Preservation Awards

May 21, 2019

HAGERSTOWN, MD (May 21, 2019) – The Washington County Board of County Commissioners awarded three local citizens at the 41st Annual John Frye Historic Preservation Awards ceremony and luncheon. The recipients were awarded for their dedication and commitment to preserving and protecting the history of Washington County through historic rehabilitation, restoration and infill, letters and advocacy.

The 2019 John Frye Historic Preservation Award recipients are: Judy Kerns, Sue Gemeny, and Dian Thomson for Advocacy Award, Blaine Snyder and Justin Mayhue for Preservation Award, and the Town of Williamsport and Joan Knode for Adaptive Reuse Award.

Kerns, Gemeny, and Thomson, received the Advocacy award, for their outstanding efforts in the September 2018 celebration for the 250th Anniversary celebration of Keedysville.

Snyder and Mayhue received the Preservation award for their development and outstanding progression in the creation of a "Museum of Firefighting History" at one of the oldest, active firehouses in Maryland.

Knode and the Town of Williamsport are receiving the Adaptive Re-use award for maintaining the historic barn at Springfield Farm which houses the town museum and has been adapted into a premier event center in Washington County. Williamsport Town Councilman Dennis Grove received the award on behalf of Knode.

For additional information contact Public Relations and Marketing Director Danielle Weaver at 240-313-2380.