Skip to content

Planning Commission

Share | 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission contains seven members.  Six are appointed by the County Commissioners from applications submitted through the Boards & Commissions Page.  You may volunteer to serve on a Board or Commission by clicking on the link and submitting an online application form.  The seventh member is a current County Commissioner as an ex-officio.

The Commission is charged with reviewing and approving subdivision plats, forest conservation plans, site plans, and development plans. The Commission also acts in an advisory capacity to the Boards of County Commissioners on items such as rezoning requests, ordinance text amendments, and adoption of other land use regulations and programs.  The Planning Commission take the lead role in development of the Comprehensive Plan.  This document is updated on a 10 year cycle and acts as a basis for long and short term planning goals.

The Planning Commission meets on the first Monday of every month at 7:00pm in the Administration Complex, 100 W. Washington Street, 2nd Floor, Room 2001.

** Please note that meeting dates, times, and locations are subject to change and may occur on short notice. You may contact the Planning Department to confirm the date, time and location of each meeting.

Washington County Administration Complex

100 West Washington Street
Hagerstown, MD 21740

Phone: 240-313-2430
Fax: 240-313-2431

TTY users may call any government office through the Maryland Relay Service