

# Board of County Commissioners of Washington County, Maryland

**Open Session Minutes** 

\*\*Special Meeting\*\*

October 30, 2019

### **MOMENT OF SILENCE AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

A moment of silence was observed, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag by the full assemblage.

## CALL TO ORDER

President Jeffrey A. Cline called the regular meeting of the Board of County Commissioners of Washington County, Maryland, to order at 7:05 a.m. at 100 West Washington Street, Room 1113, Hagerstown, Maryland, with the following members present: Vice President Terry L. Baker and Commissioners Wayne K. Keefer, Cort F. Meinelschmidt, and Randall E. Wagner.

### CONVENE IN CLOSED SESSION

Commissioner Wagner, seconded by Commissioner Keefer, moved to convene in closed session at 7:05 a.m. to discuss the appointment, employment, assignment, promotion, discipline, demotion, compensation, removal, resignation or performance evaluation of appointees, employees, or officials over whom this public body has jurisdiction; or any other personnel matter that affects one or more specific individuals; to discuss public security, if the public body determines that public discussion would constitute a risk to the public or to public security, including: (i) the development of fire and police services and staff; and (ii) the development and implementation of emergency plans; and to comply with a specific constitutional, statutory, or judicially imposed requirement that prevents public disclosures about a particular proceeding or matter, in accordance with Sections 3-305(b) (1), (10), and (13) of the General Provisions Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland. The motion passed unanimously.

In closed session, the Commissioners discussed the filling of a certain personnel vacancy with specific individuals and gave staff further direction regarding such recommendations. The Commissioners discussed the provision of public security, including the development of fire and emergency medical services and staff. Also, the Commissioners discussed a certain matter protected by the attorney-client privilege and received legal advice on that matter.

Present during closed session were Commissioners Jeffrey A. Cline, Terry L. Baker, Wayne K. Keefer, Cort F. Meinelschmidt, and Randall E. Wagner. Also present were Robert J. Slocum, County Administrator; Krista L. Hart, County Clerk; Kirk C. Downey, County Attorney, Kendall McPeak, Deputy County Attorney, and at various times Dave Hays, Director, Emergency Services; Sara Greaves, CFO; Susan Small, Director, Business Development; and specific interviewees for a vacant position to be filled by the Commissioners.

### **RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION**

Commissioner Meinelschmidt, seconded by Commissioner Wagner, moved to reconvene in open session at 12:02 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

Commissioner Meinelschmidt, seconded by Commissioner Keefer, moved to adjourn at 12:02 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.

Krista L. Hart, County Clerk