

INDUSTRIAL DISCHARGE PERMITS

The Division of Environmental Management provides guidance and oversight to the twelve (12) county-owned facilities that have a <u>General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater Associated with Industrial Activity (12-SW)</u>, as required by the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE).

Under this permit, the facilities are recognized to have the potential to contribute to stormwater pollution. However, they have committed to identifying potential sources and implementing proper control measures in order to limit the amount of exposure from their sources through a Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP).

As such, each facility is required to inspect their facilities and operations four times per year to properly evaluate the control measures identified in the SWPPP. Should their control measures fail, they are held accountable by the State to clean up any spills or discharges and correct them such that an incident does not occur again.

County-Owned Permitted Facilities

Facility Name	Permit Number
Central Section – Department of Highways Facility	12SW1467
Eastern Section – Department of Highways Facility	12SW1450
Southern Section – Department of Highways Facility	12SW1466
Western Section – Department of Highways Facility	12SW1465
Parks & Recreation Maintenance Facility - Department of Buildings, Grounds & Facilities	12SW2275
County Commuter Transit Facility (Washington Street) -Department of Transit	12SW2227
Hagerstown Regional Airport – Department of Solid Waste	12SW0907
City/County Landfill – Department of Solid Waste	12SW1820A
Forty West Municipal Landfill – Department of Solid Waste	12SW1396
Hancock Landfill – Department of Solid Waste	12SW1294
Resh Road II Landfill – Department of Solid Waste	12SW1295
Rubble Landfill – Department of Solid Waste	12SW0439