WASHINGTON COUNTY AGRICULTURAL EDUCATION CENTER BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Director's Mission is to:

- 1. To assist/advise with the development of the facility
- 2. To assist with providing funding for the development and operation of the facility
- 3. To promote agricultural pursuits in Washington County
- 4. To promote educational and recreational programs and activities which involve youth, the agricultural industry and the general public in all aspects of agriculture.
- 5. To educate the community on the Rural Heritage of the County

Length of the terms of the members specified in the by-laws:

- The original term of five (3) members shall be for one (1) year.
- The original terms of five (3) members shall be for two (2) years.
- The original terms of five (3) members shall be for three (3) years.
- Subsequent terms of all 9 members shall be for three (3) years.
- Members may be eligible for re-appointments for one (1) term only and following the second consecutive three (3) year terms, shall be eligible for reappointment only following an intervening one (1) year period.

Membership and length of the terms of members specified in the by-laws:

The Agricultural Education Center Board of directors shall consist of nine voting members appointed by the County Commissioners. In addition to the nine members a County Commissioner or their designee may serve as ex officio and shall have the right to vote. The Board may also appoint two additional non-voting, ex officio members to the Board. The Board shall (should) appoint it Directors from various Agricultural organizations within the County. All Board members must be Washington County Residents.

The term of a member of the Board is 3 years. The term of members shall be staggered. At the end of a term, a member will continue to serve until a successor is appointed. Members may serve two consecutive terms. Following the second consecutive 3 year term, a member shall be eligible for appointment following an intervening 1 year period or by approval of the County Commissioners (or if additional term is approved by County Commissioners).

Number of members appointed to Ag Board of Directors:

- a) Nine (9) voting members
- b) Various department heads from County Governments to serve as non-voting ex officio members for various terms of office for various differing purposes.

Meeting schedule (when & where):

The Ag Board of Directors hold regularly scheduled meetings the third Wednesday of every month at 7:30 p.m. in the Tech Center at the Washington County Agricultural Education Center office complex. Address is 7313 Sharpsburg Pike, Boonsboro, MD. (Directions – 7 miles south of intersection of 1-70 & route 65)