DPW Home

Division of Public Works - Washington County, Maryland

Washington Co. Admin Complex
100 West Washington Street
Suite 2400
Hagerstown, MD 21740

Andrew E. Eshleman, Director
Email Andrew Eshleman

Christine Casey, Senior Office Associate
Email Christine Casey


The Division of Public Works consists of four departments:  HighwaysParks and FacilitiesTransit, and Hagerstown Regional Airport, utilizing approximately one hundred and sixty employees and an administrative office with a staff of three, consisting of the Director, Stormwater Management Coordinator and Documents Coordinator.

The mission of the division is to provide and maintain a safe, cost effective infrastructure and public transportation that enhances the quality of life in Washington County.

The Division of Public Works is responsible for:

  • Operation of the Hagerstown Regional Airport
  • Maintenance of County owned highways
  • Operation and maintenance of County owned parks, buildings, and facilities
  • Maintenance of County owned stormwater management facilities
  • Operation of the County's public transportation system (Transit/County Commuter)
  • Management of the County MS4 NPDES Permit

Policies & Procedures

Construction of Subdivision Infrastructure for Acceptance and Ownership by Washington County

Highway Adequacy Policy

Subdivision Ordinance

  • SO-12-001 - ORD-2012-41 - Major and Minor Subdivisions (definition)

Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance

Stormwater Management, Grading, Soil  Erosion and Sediment Control Ordinance
(Revision 1) Adopted and Effective February 26, 2013

Flood Plain Ordinance (Effective August 15, 2017)

Posted in DPW, Public Works and tagged , , , , , .