Historic District Commission

Department of Planning & Zoning

Board Members:
Tom Clemens 
Edith Wallace
Gary Rohrer
Christine Toms
Jeff Cline, BOCC Representative

The Board of County Commissioners appoints the seven-member Historic District Commission board to three-year terms.   The Historic District Commission is responsible for review, approval and disapproval of any activity, which requires an issuance of a building permit that is located within a Historic Preservation District or the Antietam Overlay zone. The Historic District has a similar authority for new construction in the Rural Village zoning district where historic inventories have been completed.   It also reviews and makes recommendations on legislation, applications for zoning text or map amendments, special exceptions, variance, site plan or subdivision application and other proposals affecting historic preservation.  A Planning Department staff member is designated as the liaison to the Historic District Commission and is the contact point for all Historic District Commission business.


Posted in Planning / Zoning, Planning & Zoning and tagged , , , , , , .